Community Oversight Task Force (COTF)

As part of the Consent Decree, the City of Baltimore is required to establish a Community Oversight Task Force (COTF) to recommend reforms to the civilian review board and the current system of civilian oversight.

The below City residents were appointed by Mayor Catherine Pugh on June 27, 2017 after receiving over a hundred applications from the community.

The Community Oversight Task Force is expected to meet at least 10 hours a month from July 2017 until March 2018 to fullfill the requirements of the COTF.  During which time they will meet with various City agencies including the Baltimore City Police Department and the Office of Civil Rights & Wage Enforcement to review how the City is currently handling civilian oversight, interview various community members and organizations to identify their concerns and engage with subject matter experts to ascertain best practices.  

At the end of the research process the Community Oversight Task Force is required to provide recommendations for improvements to not only the Civilian Review Board but the entire civilian oversight system.  All recommendations will be made public and there will be an open comment period of 30 days after posting on this website before a final report is released. 

Click on any of the below COTF member's photograph to learn more about them.

Andrew Reinel

Daniel Levine

Dr. Danielle Kushner

Denise Duval

Catalina Byrd

Dr. Jeffrey Anderson

Marvin McKenstry Jr.

Sen. Ralph Hughes

Ray C. Kelly